

The 32nd Chinese Control Conference

Plenary Speaker



Demin Xu is an Academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE). He completed his postgraduate study in the Department of Underwater Ordnance at the Northwestern Polytechnical University (NPU) in 1964. From 1987 to 1988, he was a visiting scholar in Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. He is now a Professor and Director of the Academic Committee of National Science & Technology Laboratory for Underwater Information & Control. He served as the Vice President of NPU and the Dean of Graduate School of NPU. He was a member of Subject Evaluation

Group of the Academic Degree Committee of State Council, a member of the Underwater Ordnance Research Group of the General Armament Department, and a member of Hong Kong Council for Academic Accreditation.

Professor Xu has been engaged in teaching and scientific research for more than 40 years, and dedicated to research and development on control, navigation and design of Autonomous Underwater Vehicles (AUVs). He has completed more than 30 important R&D projects and won three National Prizes for Progress in Science and Technology (one for the first class and two for the second class), more than 20 awards and honors at the provincial and ministrialry levels, and the prize for Science and Technology Progress of the Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation. He published 5 books and more than 300 papers in international and domestic journals and conferences, and has patented 12 inventions. He has supervised more than 100 postdoctoral research fellows, Ph. D students and Master students, and two of his Ph.D. students won the National Hundred Excellent Doctoral Dissertations award. He won the first class prize of National Teaching Achievement Award and two special class prizes of Provincial Teaching Achievement Award. His research team was awarded the National Defense Science Innovative Research Team from the National Defense Division, the Advanced Education Team from the Ministry of Education, and was supported by Program for Changjiang Scholars and Innovative Research Team in Universities.